Halfway There (Woahh, Livin on a Prayer)

I cannot believe that I am halfway through my study abroad experience, time really does fly when you’re having fun!

This past week has been absolutely busy and insane, but I have visited several new areas of Ireland including Dingle Bay, Causey Farms, and Killarney. I also got to explore more of Dublin and toured the Guinness Factory, the Chester Beatty Library, Dublin Castle, and more museums! I am sad that I only have three more weeks in this absolutely gorgeous country; however, I am going to make the most of my time here.

Last wednesday, I got the pleasure of listening to Waverly play traditional Irish music at the Cobblestone, a pub on the North Side! She was amazing, I’m so glad we got to enjoy her performance! It was nice to get to hangout and relax at a real (and not too touristy) Irish pub.

We have already taken our second exam for Biology 202, and I must say that the class is moving quickly. However, a few friends and I decided to take a study break on Thursday and explore Dublinia, a museum dedicated to the Viking and Medieval settlements in ancient Dublin. The museum was informative and interactive, and I really enjoyed getting to try on costumes and learning about Dublin’s history!

One of my good friends from CONA (the Conference on National Affairs), Makayla, is studying abroad in Barcelona and visited me in Dublin over the weekend! It was amazing to see her again, especially since CONA is occurring this week! Sending much love to all the delegates on the mountain, I wish I could be there to debate, moderate, and eat Eureka treats with ya’ll! We toured the Guinness Factory and got to see the magic behind the “most recognizable beer brand in the world”. It was an amazing experience, I would definitely recommend doing it if you have the time!

On Saturday, the whole IES abroad program got an opportunity to visit an Irish Farm and do some bog jumping, puppy petting, and break baking! It was an amazing experience, I posted a photo of the adorable puppies below. I wish I could have adopted one!

On Sunday, a group of friends and I took a 16 hour tour to County Kerry. We visited the quaint villages of Adare and Killarney in the morning (and Killarney was packed because of a Gaelic Football match), drove along the Wild Atlantic Way, and explored Inch Beach and Aghdahoe. In the afternoon, we got to wander on the grounds of the Muckross House, a stately 65-room manor that Queen Victoria lived in on her trip to Ireland. My favorite part of our adventuring (besides the friends I went with, of course) was visiting Torc Waterfall, however. The picture I’ve posted below does not begin to do the site justice, and I am honestly sad that I do not have a better camera.

Kristy, Leela, Waverly, and I after Waverly got to play Trad music in a pub!
Inch Beach was not an inch long, fake news!
Here I am in Aghdahoe, wishing I had more time to climb the fence and explore
Here I am on the grounds of the Muckross House
The amazing Torc Waterfall blew my mind!

Makayla and I in front of the Guinness Storehouse!
Nicole, Leela, and I are professional archaeologists in Dublinia!

Leave a Reply

